Breaking News
More () »

Southeast Texas's Leading Local News: Weather, Traffic, Sports and more | Southeast Texas, Texas | 12NEWSNOW.com

What's on the ballot in Orange County?

Candidates in the Nov. 3 election include President, U.S. Senate

ORANGE COUNTY, Texas — Election Day is November 3, 2020, and there is a lot on the ballot for Orange County voters.

Here's everything you need to know before you head to the polls!

What you need to bring to vote

In Texas, you need one of these to cast your vote: 

  • Your DPS driver license 
  • Personal ID issued by DPS
  • Texas Election ID certificate
  • Texas handgun license issued by DPS
  • Military ID card with photo
  • U.S. Passport with photo
  • U.S. citizenship certificate with photo

See photos of the above examples here

RELATED: Vote 2020: What you need to bring with you to the polls in Texas

How you can vote early

Early voting for the November 3rd General Election begins on October 13 and ends on October 30. 

There are four locations for you to cast your ballot early: the Orange Public Library, Orange County Airport, Orange County Expo Center and Raymond Gould Community Center. 

Dates and hours to vote early:

  • Oct. 13-17: 8 a.m.-5 p.m. 
  • Oct. 19-24: 8 a.m.-5 p.m. 
  • Oct. 26-30: 8 a.m.-5 p.m.
  • Oct 13, 20, 27: 7 a.m.-7 p.m.

What's on the ballot

President / Vice President

  • Donald J. Trump / Michael R. Pence (Republican)
  • Joseph R. Biden / Kamala D. Harris (Democrat)
  • Jo Jorgensen / Jeremy "Spike" Cohen (Libertarian)
  • Howie Hawkins / Angela Walker (Green)

United States Senator

  • John Cornyn (Republican)
  • Mary "MJ" Hegar (Democrat)
  • Kerry Douglas McKennon (Libertarian)
  • David B. Collins (Green)

United States Representative, District 36

  • Brian Babin (Republican)
  • Rashad Lewis (Democrat)
  • Chad Abbey (Libertarian)
  • Hal J. Ridley Jr. (Green)

Railroad Commissioner

  • James "Jim" Wright (Republican)
  • Chrysta Castañeda (Democrat)
  • Matt Sterett (Libertarian)
  • Katija "Kat" Gruene (Green)

Chief Justice, Supreme Court

  • Nathan Hecht (Republican)
  • Amy Clark Meachum (Democrat)
  • Mark Ash (Libertarian)

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 6, Unexpired Term

  • Jane Bland (Republican)
  • Kathy Cheng (Democrat)

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 7

  • Jeff Boyd (Republican)
  • Staci Williams (Democrat)
  • William Bryan Strange III (Libertarian)

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 8

  • Brett Busby (Republican)
  • Gisela D. Triana (Democrat)
  • Tom Oxford (Libertarian)

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 3

  • Bert Richardson (Republican)
  • Elizabeth David Frizell (Democrat)

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 4

  • Kevin Patrick Yeary (Republican)
  • Tina Clinton (Democrat)

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 9

  • David Newell (Republican)
  • Brandon Birmingham (Democrat)

State Representative District 21

  • Dade Phelan

Chief Justice, 9th Court of Appeals District

  • Scott Golemon

District Judge, 128th Judicial District

  • Courtney Arkeen

District Judge, 163rd Judicial District

  • Rex Wayne Peveto

County Judge - Unexpired Term

  • John Gothia

County Court at Law No. 2

  • Troy Johnson

County Attorney

  • John Kimbrough


  • Jimmy Lane Mooney

County Tax Assessor-Collector

  • Karen Fisher

County Commissioner Precinct 1

  • Johnny Trahan

County Commissioner Precinct 3

  • Kirk Roccaforte

County Constable Precinct 1

  • Lannie L. Claybar

County Constable Precinct 2

  • Jeremiah Gunter

County Constable Precinct 3

  • Brad Frye

County Constable Precinct 4

  • Matt Ortego