Breaking News
More () »

Southeast Texas's Leading Local News: Weather, Traffic, Sports and more | Southeast Texas, Texas | 12NEWSNOW.com

What's on the ballot in Newton County?

Early voting for the November 3rd election begins on October 13

NEWTON COUNTY, Texas — Election Day is November 3, 2020, and there is a lot on the ballot for Newton County voters.

Here's everything you need to know before you head to the polls!

What you need to bring to vote

In Texas, you need one of these to cast your vote: 

  • Your DPS driver license 
  • Personal ID issued by DPS
  • Texas Election ID certificate
  • Texas handgun license issued by DPS
  • Military ID card with photo
  • U.S. Passport with photo
  • U.S. citizenship certificate with photo

See photos of the above examples here

RELATED: Vote 2020: What you need to bring with you to the polls in Texas

How you can vote early

Early voting for the November 3rd General Election begins on October 13 and ends on October 30. 

For locations, you can contact Newton County Election Officer Sandra K. Duckworth at 409-379-5341.

RELATED: Want to vote in Texas for the 2020 election? The deadline to register is coming up soon

RELATED: 2020 Texas election guide: Everything you need to know to make sure your vote counts

What's on the ballot

Here's a link to the November 3 sample ballot

President / Vice President

  • Donald J. Trump / Michael R. Pence (Republican)
  • Joseph R. Biden / Kamala D. Harris (Democrat)
  • Jo Jorgensen / Jeremy "Spike" Cohen (Libertarian)
  • Howie Hawkins / Angela Walker (Green)

United States Senator

  • John Cornyn (Republican)
  • Mary "MJ" Hegar (Democrat)
  • Kerry Douglas McKennon (Libertarian)
  • David B. Collins (Green)

United States Representative, District 36

  • Brian Babin (Republican)
  • Rashad Lewis (Democrat)
  • Chad Abbey (Libertarian)
  • Hal J. Ridley Jr. (Green)

Railroad Commissioner

  • James "Jim" Wright (Republican)
  • Chrysta Castañeda (Democrat)
  • Matt Sterett (Libertarian)
  • Katija "Kat" Gruene (Green)

Chief Justice, Supreme Court

  • Nathan Hecht (Republican)
  • Amy Clark Meachum (Democrat)
  • Mark Ash (Libertarian)

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 6, Unexpired Term

  • Jane Bland (Republican)
  • Kathy Cheng (Democrat)

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 7

  • Jeff Boyd (Republican)
  • Staci Williams (Democrat)
  • William Bryan Strange III (Libertarian)

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 8

  • Brett Busby (Republican)
  • Gisela D. Triana (Democrat)
  • Tom Oxford (Libertarian)

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 3

  • Bert Richardson (Republican)
  • Elizabeth David Frizell (Democrat)

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 4

  • Kevin Patrick Yeary (Republican)
  • Tina Clinton (Democrat)

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 9

  • David Newell (Republican)
  • Brandon Birmingham (Democrat)

State Representative, District 19

  • James White (Republican)

Chief Justice, 9th Court of Appeals District

  • Scott Golemon (Republican)

District Judge, 1st Judicial District

  • Craig M. Mixson (Republican)


  • Robert Burby (Republican)

County Tax Assessor-Collector

  • Melissa Burks (Republican)

County Commissioner Precinct 1

  • Danny Bentsen (Republican)

County Commissioner Precinct 3

  • Gary "Tick" Fomby (Republican)

County Constable Precinct 1

  • Odis Lane (Republican)

County Constable Precinct 2

  • James D. Mitchell (Republican)

County Constable Precinct 3

  • Lewis "Sonny" White (Republican)