J. Shane Howard re-elected - 12 News KBMT and K-JAC. News, Weather and Sports for SE Texas

J. Shane Howard re-elected

Posted: Updated:

People living in Jefferson County will have the same man at the helm of the Tax Assessor's office in the upcoming term. Incumbent J. Shane Howard has been re-elected.

Howard, the county's first Republican to hold the Tax Assessor Collector's office, was first elected in 2010. He took the spot left open by the retirement of Miriam Johnson. Johnson, a Democrat who served 15 years, publicly endorsed Howard in the 2010 election.

This will be Howard's second term in office.

Howard is a former Chairman of the Jefferson County Republican Party. He stepped down at the end of his 2010 term to run as Tax Assessor Collector.

Howard's opponent in Tuesday's election, Thomas Sigee, also ran against Howard in the 2010 election.

There are 599 provisional ballots from Tuesday's election which have not been counted.  A provisional ballot is used to record a vote when there is some question concerning a voter's eligibility.  These ballots will be researched to determine if the voter was eligible to vote, and the ballots are valid.  The County has until November 13 to make a decision.

Routinely 98% of all provisional ballots are rejected due to various reasons.

Although the Tax Assessor Collector's office will be handling the validation process, Mr. Howard is not directly involved in the process.

Powered by WorldNow

Newsroom: (409) 838-1212
Front Desk: (409) 833-7512
News Fax: (409) 981-1564
News Email: 12News@kbmt12.com

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KBMT. All Rights Reserved.
Users of this site agree to the Terms of Service, Privacy Notice/Your California Privacy Rights, and Ad Choices.