J. Shane Howard remains the winner by 16 votes

After 61 provisional ballots were accepted by the Jefferson County Early Voting Ballot Board, J. Shane Howard retained the Tax Assessor position by 16 votes.

The closely contested race pivoted on the validity of nearly 600 provisional ballots and nine military ballots.

County Clerk Carolyn Guidry says the 11 Democrats and 11 Republicans appointed to sit on the early voting ballot board started counting ballots at 9 a.m. Tuesday. By 1:30 p.m the counting was completed.

On Election Day, J. Shane Howard won the race, with 23 more votes than his challenger Thomas Sigee.

The final count will be presented to Jefferson County Commissioners to be canvassed on Wednesday.



To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment