'Her,' 'Hustle' pick up Writer's Guild nods

  • The Writer's Guild of America has named its screen nominees
  • Major players like David O. Russell, Spike Jonze and Woody Allen are among them
  • Some major awards season contenders were disqualified from being nominated
  • The WGA Awards will be handed out on February 1

By Breeanna Hare

It's pretty hard to be a standout actor if you're working with a bad script, so it's no surprise that some of the year's strongest performances came from screenplays nominated for a Writer's Guild award.

The East and West branches of the Writer's Guild of America announced their nominees for outstanding achievement in writing for the screen on Friday. Among the titles are some very recognizable names, including "American Hustle" filmmaker David O. Russell, "Her" director Spike Jonze and venerated Hollywood figure Woody Allen.

If you're surprised by the names missing from this list, Entertainment Weekly notes that only union members or scripts crafted under the guidance of a guild agreement are eligible for nomination. That left "12 Years A Slave's" John Ridley and "Philomena's" Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope, three screenwriters who worked on two of this awards season's big hits, disqualified from receiving an honor.

The awards will be handed out at simultaneous ceremonies held in New York and Los Angeles on February 1. Check out the nominees in the three screen categories below:

Original screenplay

• "American Hustle," written by Eric Warren Singer and David O. Russell

• "Blue Jasmine," written by Woody Allen

• "Dallas Buyers Club," written by Craig Borten and Melisa Wallack

• "Her," written by Spike Jonze

• "Nebraska," written by Bob Nelson

Adapted screenplay

• "August: Osage County," screenplay by Tracy Letts, based on his play

• "Before Midnight," written by Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy and Ethan Hawke, based on characters created by Richard Linklater and Kim Krizan

• "Captain Phillips," screenplay by Billy Ray, based on the book "A Captain's Duty: Somali Pirates, Navy SEALS and Dangerous Days at Sea" by Richard Phillips with Stephan Talty

• "Lone Survivor," written by Peter Berg, based on the book by Marcus Lutrell with Patrick Robinson

• "The Wolf of Wall Street," screenplay by Terence Winter, based on the book by Jordan Belfort

Documentary screenplay

• "Dirty Wars," written by Jeremy Scahill and David Riker

• "Herblock -- The Black & The White," written by Sara Lukinson and Michael Stevens

• "No Place on Earth," written by Janet Tobias and Paul Laikin

• "Stories We Tell," written by Sarah Polley

• "We Steal Secrets: The Story of Wikileaks," written by Alex Gibney



™ & © 2014 Cable News Network, Inc., a Time Warner Company. All rights reserved.



To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment